A history of support for mental health

The Story

One fateful night in 2003 two friends came up with an idea for an Ottawa comedy show to support mental health. That night, Cracking-Up the Capital was born.

The first show, held at the Centrepointe Theatre in 2004, was a great success. Over a decade (and many laughs) later the now rebranded Alterna Savings Crackup is a week-long festival of comedy, events and hi-jinx that attracts top comedic talent from around the globe.

 

 

Not for profit, volunteer-run

Alterna Savings Crackup is a registered, Canadian not-for-profit run by volunteers from all walks of life. By day, we're marketing and communications consultants, electricians, public servants, real estate professionals and more, but by nights and weekends we become a crack production team!

We couldn't do it
without you!

Thank you to all of our sponsors and supporters who have made Alterna Savings Crackup what it is today.

Comedy Cabinet

Crackup Festival Chair Mary Walsh

Crackup Festival Chair
Mary Walsh

Honourary Co-Chair City Councillor, Allan Hubley

Honourary Co-Chair
City Councillor, Allan Hubley

Honourary Co-Chair City Councillor, Tim Tierney

Honourary Co-Chair
City Councillor, Tim Tierney

Organizers

Eager Beavers

Janine Kivell - Sponsorships Manager
janine@crackup.ca

Fabio Vitagliano - Sponsorship Associate
fabio@crackup.ca

Gord Troup - Production Associate

Robin Miron - Production Associate
robin@crackup.ca

Theresa Godbold - Production Associate
theresa@crackup.ca

Sheetal Rachamalla - Production Associate
sheetal@crackup.ca

Jackie Duhard - Director of Communications & Public Relations
jackie@crackup.ca

Kristine Shadid - Social Media Manager
kristine@crackup.ca

Marcy Galipeau - Communications Consultant
marcy@crackup.ca